

Committed to excellence in the scholarship and practice of engagement locally and globally

## **Engagement Scholarship Consortium Announces Excellence Awards Program Recipients**

For Immediate Release

May 2, 2018

Harrisonburg, Virginia — The Engagement Scholarship Consortium (ESC) has announced recipients of the 2018 ESC Excellence Awards Program. Nominations were received from two- and four-year public and private higher education institutions across the country and were evaluated by a panel of scholars. ESC is the premier resource for higher education institutions focused on promoting excellence in engaged scholarship locally and globally.

There were five recipients across four categories in this first year of the competition.

Western Carolina University won the Excellence in Student Community Engagement Award for its Student Democracy Coalition project.

Ball State University was selected for the Excellence in Faculty Community Engagement Award for its Schools Within the Context of Community Program.

There were two winners in the Excellence in Community Partner Engagement category — Colorado State University's Campus Connections Youth Mentoring Program and The Ohio State University's Generation Rx.

The University of Wisconsin-Extension was named recipient of the Ryan, Moser, Reilly Excellence in Community Engagement Institutional Leadership Award.

ESC Board President Samory T. Pruitt, vice president for community affairs at The University of Alabama, underscored the importance of the highly competitive new program. "These institutions exemplify the best engagement scholarship has to offer," Pruitt said, "and demonstrate innovative and practical solutions to some of the most critical problems facing our nation and world today."

"This is the first year of this awards program and our thanks go to Dr. Melissa Maybury Lubin and Dr. Susan E. Short for their leadership of this effort." Lubin is dean for Outreach and Engagement at James Madison University and chair of the ESC Awards Committee. Short is associate vice president for Engagement at Virginia Tech University and ESC Executive Committee liaison.

The ESC Awards Program provides important recognition for the sustained work of students, faculty, community partners and higher education institutions, and increases opportunities for enhanced peer learning.

The formal awards program will be held on Tuesday, October 2, during ESC's 2018 Annual Conference in Minneapolis, Minnesota. In addition to the formal presentation, institutional leaders will share best practices during the Excellence Awards Program concurrent session.

The following judged the competition: David Proctor, director of the Center for Engagement and Community Development at Kansas State University; Deborah Smith-Howell, associate vice chancellor for Academic Affairs and dean of Graduate Studies at the University of Nebraska Omaha; Birgit Green, director of the Office of Academic Engagement at Texas Tech University; Laurie Van Egeren, assistant provost for University Community Partnerships, Office of University Outreach and Engagement, Michigan State University; Scott Reed, vice provost, Division of Outreach and Engagement, Oregon State University; Paul Brooks, associate vice president for Public Service and Outreach, University of Georgia; Lynnette Young Overby, deputy director, Community Engagement Initiative, University of Delaware; Sharon Paynter, assistant vice chancellor for Public Service and Community Relations, East Carolina University.

Registration for the conference is available at <a href="https://engagementscholarship.org/conference/esc-2018-meeting/registration">https://engagementscholarship.org/conference/esc-2018-meeting/registration</a>.